1 & 2 stars · Contemporary · Young Adult

Review: The Whole Thing Together by Ann Brashares

published: April 25th, 2017 by Delacorte Press

pages: 304

genre: YA contemporary

This book was really not my cup of tea. I’ve liked other books by Ann Brashares in the past, so I was a bit disappointed with this one.

The story has a unique family dynamic. Sasha and Ray are not related, but share 3 half-sisters. The story tells the perspectives of Sasha, Ray, and the 3 sisters, and their experiences in their family.

My first big problem was the romance that started to blossom between Sasha and Ray. I know they’re not blood related or anything, by they have closely related families and have been sharing a bedroom on alternating weeks since they were kids. It’s just kind of gross. Exploring the family relationships and having them become friends would have been enough. They didn’t have to have the hots for each other.

My second problem was my lack of interest in the characters. The story seemed like it had good potential, but even with 5 characters to choose from, I couldn’t relate to anyone in the story. That also meant I didn’t care too much about them. Characters I can connect to and care about are often the most vital part in a story for me, so this was kind of a big problem.

There might be some people that can relate to this book, but I feel like many will be in my boat. If you like books where you can relate to the characters, I wouldn’t bet my time and money on this one. I’d rate this book 2 out of 5, and wouldn’t personally recommend to anyone whose not dying to read it anyway.

Leave a Reply

